So, What About That Sequel?

More and more often lately, I’ve had people asking about TCP II: Rebirth.

When is it coming out? What’s the delay?

Well, ask no more. I’m here to give you a formal update on the situation.

First off, I actually didn’t start working on Rebirth properly until October 2014. Prior to that, I was busy writing Pulse — the post-apocalyptic prequel to the series. Initially, my plan was to release the prequel before the sequel because there are a number of characters in it that also appear in Rebirth. Then, after much deliberation, I realized it would be wiser to release the sequel first. That’s the book everyone is waiting for, after all — the thrilling conclusion to the main story line.

My mistake of spending nine months on the prequel aside, progress has still been slow. I finished Rebirth‘s new draft in March last year, let it sit for a couple of weeks, then cracked it open with the intent of completing revisions by the end of May and releasing in the Fall. Now it’s the beginning of 2016, and I remain submerged in unedited pages.

Needless to say, I missed my goal. By a lot. To make a long story short: life is a bitch. I’ve been in a financial slump for several years now, and having been unsuccessful in job-hunting, I started working as a freelance digital artist. While drawing on a near daily basis helps keep the bills paid, it leaves very little time to edit — slowing down an already slow process.

Thankfully, I have two fantastic beta readers who have been going chapter-by-chapter to help speed things up while my other two (equally lovely) betas await a fully-polished second draft.

So, how far along am I now?

Thirty percent of the book remains to be edited. Thirty-goddamn-percent. No matter how I write it, it makes me a little giddy inside. I’m so close! I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and it is glorious! I’m hoping to have the book finished and sent off to the awaiting beta readers by mid-March/April. After that, it’ll be off to the editor, and then back to me for one final polish.

Of course, I do have a little something-something planned for the interim.

Once a couple rounds of beta reading have been done, I’m gonna throw together an Advance Review Copy (ARC). So keep your eyes peeled, because I’ll be hosting giveaways for those in the near future! You’ll find mostly digital editions up for grabs. However, I might have a few paperback editions to give away if my financial situation takes a turn for the better. There may even be some cool swag to go along with it!

With all that said and done, I apologize for the delay. You’ve all been so patient with me, and I can’t thank you enough for that. I’m now aiming to get Rebirth on the digital shelves towards the end of the year. September-Octoberish if all goes according to plan, later if shit hits the fan. But hey, I’m optimistic, so let’s stick with the former.

I hope it’ll be worth the wait! ❤

Leave a Reply

