Extreme Makeover: Book Edition

Hello, m’lovelies!

As I teased on Twitter and Facebook yesterday, I have some book news to share.

I decided on a whim to redesign the covers for both The Calypsis Project and TCP II: Rebirth, and I actually have some rough mock-ups done already. So without further ado . . .

BEHOLD, THE SHINIES

new-cover-wips

Pardon the shoddy quality. My sketches are tiny. These work-in-progress shots are actually only 367px in height, so I had to zoom in and take a screenshot to embiggen them without losing too much quality.

Anyhoo . . .

What’s the reason for the redesign? Well, I was never really satisfied with Rebirth‘s cover. It’s not that I don’t like the piece itself. I do. It just didn’t feel cover-worthy. And since none of the simpler changes I made seemed to make any difference, I thought: why not just redo the entire thing?

So I did, and I loved it so much I decided to whip up a new cover for TCP1 as well (which would have been necessary anyway, otherwise the books would have looked like they belonged to two different series). I feel like these designs show off the characters better whilst maintaining that air of mystery the originals held. Plus, I am a sucker for color-coded novels. This allows me to indulge in that a bit more.

It’ll probably be a couple months yet before these are finished, and a few months still before you see them in print. I’m also planning to revamp the interior design of both books. And seeing as TCP1 is undergoing post-publication revisions, I may wait until those are done to update things—however, that is dependent on how fast the revisions go. If TCP1 v2 is still far from completion by the time the new covers are ready, I’ll just go ahead with the visual updates.

Either way, I’ll keep you guys in the loop.

Leave a Reply

